Memphis Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc.

Memphis Alumni Chapter Chapter Achievement


The Memphis Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated has a long-standing history with not only Kappa Alpha Psi, but with the Memphis community. From mentoring and tutoring young children to giving out holiday gift baskets to collaborating with other community service organizations, Memphis Alumni Chapter has made itself felt as a presence in the city of Memphis. It is the goal of the Brothers of Memphis Alumni to follow in the footsteps of our Founders on the path to Achievement in Every Field of Human Endeavor so that no major decision regarding the Memphis community is made without the involvement of Kappa.

The Brothers of Memphis Alumni realize that to reach the mountaintops of greatness, one has to travel through the valleys of hard work and sacrifice. It is only because of those who have come before us that we are able to boast of the heights we have achieved; for it is on their shoulders we stand. Memphis Alumni Chapter was chartered on September 24, 1934, under the leadership of Henry E. Oates, Polemarch, and I. A. Gentry, Keeper of Records. Other Charter Members included Henry Amos, Homer D. Coke, E. W. Weed, I. J. Graham, A. K. Davis, Richard Oates, Edward Lattimer, and R. J. Roddy.

Polemarch's of Memphis Alumni Chapter:
  1. Henry E. Oates (1934-1936)
  2. A. Maceo Walker, Laurel Wreath Awardee (1937-1945)
  3. John “Pop” Whittaker (1945-1949)
  4. Melvin N. Conley, Past Province Polemarch, South Central Province (1950-1951)
  5. Floyd M. Campbell, First Initiate of Memphis Alumni (1952-1954)
  6. Jesse H. Turner, Sr. (1955)
  7. Archie W. Willis (1956-1957)
  8. Elmer L. Henderson (1958-1959)
  9. Thomas Bethel (1960)
  10. Joseph Atkins (1961)
  11. Robert L Wynn (1962-1964)
  12. Horace L. Chandler (1965)
  13. Isaac White, Sr. (1966)
  14. Ernest Abron (1967-1968)
  15. Joseph Jordan (1969-1971)
  16. Ocie C. Pleasant, Past Province Polemarch, South Central Province (1972-1973)
  17. James J. Adams (1974)
  18. William C. Hogg (1975)
  19. LaVaughn Bridges (1976-1978)
  20. Charles H. Dixon (1979)
  21. Lemuel Osborne (1980-1981)
  22. Ira E. Spillers (1982)
  23. Harvey A. Branch (1983-1984)
  24. Ocie C. Pleasant (1985)
  25. James A. Morris (1986-1987)
  26. Cecil T. Mitchell (1988-1989)
  27. Eric B. Taylor (1990-1992)
  28. James B. Stafford, III (1993-1994)
  29. Robert C. Gill (1995-1996)
  30. Andrew L. Rosser (1997-1998)
  31. Clarence R. Scott (1999-2000)
  32. Willie F. Brooks (2001-2002)
  33. Samuel S. King (2003-2005)
  34. Andrew McGlown (2005-2007)
  35. Terence Tunstall (2007-2009)
  36. Joe Westbrook (2009-2011)
  37. Martin L. Truitt (2011 - 2013)
  38. Darrell Catron (2013 - 2015)
  39. Andre Dean (2015 - 2017)
  40. Joseph Long (2017 - Present)